Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Something for Autumn

Leave a comment

I thought it was time I made something for a boy, so easy to get carried away with all the gorgeous patterns I have for girls. This week I completed a snug little duffle coat and wellington booties

DSCN3351

It’s a simple garter stitch knit which is quick and easy, in fact easy enough for a beginner, and does look cute when finished.

DSCN3332

The coat fits an 18″ chest so suitable for a baby up to 6 months and maybe beyond. It is knitted in DK and although the photos show a turquoise blue it is actually a jade green. It is so annoying that the colour hasn’t shown up properly as it is quite a striking shade.  I used a cream coloured yarn for the edgings and pockets, and used cream coloured toggles to provide contrast.

DSCN3334

There is a generous hood to keep baby warm, which is knitted separatley and attached.

DSCN3336

I knitted two squares in cream and stitched them in place for pockets, to give a neater look I then chain stitched around the outside edge.

DSCN3350

I knitted a pair of wellington boots to complete the ensemble

DSCN3347

Definately a warm little outfit for the cooler days of Autumn which will soon be upon us.

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

Leave a Reply

