Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Miss Charlotte

4 Comments

Running with the doll theme again this week as the Woman’s Weekly Doll KAL is still continuing. I just love this doll, she is a Victorian style doll base on Jean Greenhowe’s Emily. She has been on my ‘to do’ list for some time so now was a good excuse to start her.

DSCN3201

She is knitted in DK on size 3.25mm needles and 4mm needles for the hair. She is hard work as there are lots of little pieces to knit, so therefore a lot of sewing!

DSCN3193

I chose white,cream, coral pink and red in the hope they would work well with her skin and hair colour. It was fun putting her together and watching how she shaped up.

DSCN3194

The rinklets and bows were all sewn on separately, so positioning them and holding them in place was a bit tricky.

DSCN3212

She has full length white bloomers!! With the heatwave we have had recently I did feel for her when sewing them in place!

DSCN3205

She stands at 15″ and 9″ in a sitting position. Her pinafore has a picot-edged collar and belt at the waist, both knitted separately and stitched in place with a bow at the back

DSCN3209

I always embroider the face at the beginning, because I’m always eager to see what she is going to look like, although I know a lot of people leave the face until the very end.

DSCN3219

Dolls faces are always tricky and they never quite turn out as pretty as you hope, but to be fair I think she is prettier than the other dolls I’ve attempted. But looks aren’t everything, showing character is probably more important even in a doll!

DSCN3203

Even though she was hard work, I think she was worth it, and I would make another one in perhaps a different colour combination.

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

4 thoughts on “Miss Charlotte

  1. Another cute doll, well done. Love the colour of the dress

Leave a Reply

