Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Sunday Best

4 Comments

It has been a busy weeek getting to grips with the Etsy culture. You certainly learn a lot from the forums and joining teams on Etsy is apparently the way to go to get your shop noticed. You must also work on your SEO (search engine optimisation) and work with all the available social media, so the promotion aspect seems like a full time job in itself.

I’ve no doubt it will take time to get established so patience must be practised! Anyway back to the knitting, this week I finished a little vintage style coatΒ  which I ‘ve called:

Sunday Best

DSCN2850

It is a really sweet little coat that will fit a baby 3-6 months. It is in DK, the main colour is a soft peach and the contrasting colour is what I would call a salmon pink, not quite orange but leaning that way. Well whatever the shade is I thought they complemented each other well.

The lower skirt has a pleat effect by working a k8 p4 sequence and then by the waist a gradual decrease leads to a cabled panel in the bodice.

DSCN2828

I knitted two little bows in the contrasting colour and attached them at the point were the cable ends and the pleats begin. The pattern is repeated on the back which I think is a beautiful design.

DSCN2832

The little half belt is a lovely feature and gives it a very stylish look. As usual I have knitted a matching pair of Mary Jane shoes

DSCN2840

The style of the coat reminds me of the coats little girls wore in the 1950s, definately a classic design.

DSCN2848

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

4 thoughts on “Sunday Best

  1. Another wonderful creation Carol, well done. I hope you have success with your Etsy shop

  2. This is just too cute πŸ™‚ where can I find the pattern to this awesome coat??

Leave a Reply

