Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

A New Venture!

12 Comments

After very careful consideration I went ahead this week and opened a shop  on Etsy. Within 24 hours I got my first sale, wow was I excited, but since then everything has been eerily quiet. I am told Etsy is a vast marketplace and you have to work really hard at marketing and promoting your shop otherwise you will get buried. So as my first sale was probably a fluke I will have to get to grips with the finer points of on-line trading. If anyone has any tips or experience I am all ears!

No point in having a shop if I don’t have anything to put in it, so it was hard at work as usual with the knitting. This week I completed my:

Little Dazzler Coat

DSCN2776

This would fit a baby girl 6-9 months and is knitted in DK. I love the way the yarn knits up giving a random spotted effect.

DSCN2738

I used a contrasting yarn, a fushia pink which matches one of the colours in the main yarn for the hem, button bands and collar. I always prefer to use a solid colour alongside multi-coloured yarns to prevent the colours becoming too random.

DSCN2742

I used different coloured buttons to reflect the colours in the main yarn, and of course knitted a matching pair of shoes to complete the outfit.

DSCN2740

Well this is a coat you can’t buy in the shops but you may find it on Etsy!!!

 

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

12 thoughts on “A New Venture!

  1. Good Luck Carol, I have never looked on Etsy, must look when I get a minute. Your things are so gorgeous I am sure you will do well xxLoma

  2. Reblogged this on More Aah than F*** and commented:
    This lovely lady has just opened a shop on etsy – gorgeous things!

  3. Hi Carol
    Your first sale is not a fluke! Your work is amazing! Well done! Good luck on your new venture!
    Love
    Nikki

  4. Keep us updated and good luck. And yes, your work is amazing and very saleable.

  5. Hi Carol Is it possible to obtain the basic pattern for your little boy blue jacket I knit for neo Nate units in New Zealand plus for plunket locally these are donated by me and are passed on to families less forturnate than I have been So any patterns are very useful I have looked at Ravely but can¹t just see your pattern if it was one of thiers Please help Barbara

  6. Good luck Carol, you little coat is lovely

Leave a Reply

