Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

For a Little Princess

6 Comments

Just returned from a very pleasant little break up in Scotland, amid beautiful countryside and even managed to fit in a bit of knitting, so a successful holiday all round!

I have managed to finish some little gifts a dear friend asked me to make for her little granddaughter due in July. So handy when you know the sex of the baby, you can choose  style and colours with confidence.

I was asked for a Coat and hat set in pink, and a little bunny and teddy dressed in pastel yellow and green. So first I created:

Meadow bunny

DSCN2585

A sweet little rabbit measuring 10 inches from the tips of her ears . She is knitted in DK with a removeable pinafore.

Meadow Bunny

Shoes and little jumper are in a soft minty green, although in the photos the colour looks more like turquoise! The pinafore was knitted in two different shades of yellow, with hem, bib and straps done in moss stitch.

To complement the little bunny I made:

Theo Bear

DSCN2607

This little bear is also knitted in DK and the same size as the bunny, so they make a really cute pair.

Theo Ted

I used the same colours for ted, but used the yellow for the shoes and the green for his baggy overalls. I did use buttons for the toys clothing but they are very securely fastened in place with a strong good quality thread.

DSCN2610

They do make a cute little pair!

Little Cabled Coat

DSCN2634

I was asked to make this Little Cabled coat, a favourite pattern of mine in pale pink with white trim.  The cabled bodice gives a smock effect to the coat which is really pretty. I made the coat in size 6-9 months which ensures it will fit in the winter months when most needed.

DSCN2633

Couldn’t make up my mind whether to knit boots or shoes to go with the coat so ended up doing both, as they both go so well with the coat.

DSCN2643

They are all packaged now for the journey across the Atlantic to await the birth of a Little Princess due in July!

 

 

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

6 thoughts on “For a Little Princess

  1. I am totally thrilled with these adorable creations, Carol and your knitting skills on such intricate little patterns never cease to amaze and delight me. I feel so fortunate to call you my dear friend!

  2. You make absolutely the cutest things!

  3. Beautiful work Carol, and happy birthday

Leave a Reply

