Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

More for the Toy Box

2 Comments

I earmarked February for making toys and as we are fast approaching the end of the month I have been putting the final touches to most of the little characters that have been in various stages of creation.

DSCN2368

Bethany Bear

First of all there is Bethany bear, a 12 inch blue eyed bear dressed in her finest.

DSCN2309

She is created in chunky yarn,  but because I couldn’t find the right teddy bear  shade I used two strands of DK for the head and non clothing parts of her. Seemed to work quite well although it did get a bit annoying when the yarns kept getting twisted!

Bethany Bear

The shoes, legs and body are knitted in one piece, with the head and arms seperate and later attached. The dress in a pretty turquoise and yellow is knitted in DK and is removeable.

Tin Soldiers

I’m always being told I don’t do enough toys for the boys so when I saw this pattern for soldiers and horses in Sarah Keen’s ‘Knitted Nursery Rhymes’ I just had to make them.

DSCN2357

They are the ‘all the Kings horses and all the Kings men’ from the Humpty Dumpty nursery rhyme. and I was pretty pleased with the way they turned out. The soldiers are about 8 inches tall, they knit up quickly and only take up small amounts of yarn but they are a bit fiddly to put together

Soldiers and horse

The horse is really sweet, he is 5 inches high and more ‘Muffin the Mule’ than ‘War Horse’

DSCN2347  DSCN2344

I can see children, (not just boys) having a great deal of fun with these.

Sally the Doll

I decided to make another doll, although not quite sure about poor old Sally, not sure if she is a doll or a scarecrow!

DSCN2376

I have a lot of respect for people who can make dolls. I’ve seen some fantastic dolls made by friends on Ravelry and there is certainly an art to making them, but it’s a skill I’ve certainly not acquired yet.

Sally

Thought I would opt for yellows and greens for a spring like look, her little pinafore is removeable, but I’ve stitched the hat on permanently because I’m not overjoyed with her hair!!!

Must plan for March now. The Womens Weekly group on Rav are having a bunny KAL so rabbits and rabbit themed items yet again will feature on my ‘to do’ list

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

2 thoughts on “More for the Toy Box

Leave a Reply

