Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Paintbox!!

2 Comments

I have been working this week on another little outfit for a boy. I rummaged through my stash determined that a departure from the usual shades of pastel blue was called for, so came up with this combination.

DSCN2158

I have used this pattern many times and think it is a lovely jacket for a little boy. I used Softspun DK for the body of the jacket, which had multi-coloured flecks of yellow, blue, green and red.

DSCN2161

The yarn knitted up beautifully and reminded me of the colours of a childs paintbox. The body of the jacket was knitted in stocking stitch and double moss stitch for the top area. Think double moss stitch is becoming a favourite of mine!

DSCN2154

For the collar and edgings I chose a bright cheerful red, matching the red flecks in the jacket which I think brings the jacket ‘alive’ so to speak.

DSCN2155  DSCN2162

To complete the jacket I knitted a matching pullon bobble hat. I actually bought the fleck yarn a good while ago and only had a 100g ball, which luckily was just enough to complete both jacket and hat. At one point while knitting the hat I did feel I was going to run out of the yarn, so instinctively started to knit faster! I tend to do the same when I’m sewing, if I think I’m running out of thread I’ll speed up on the machine, which makes absolutely no sense. If there isn’t enough yarn then the speed of my knitting isn’t going to alter that fact but I still knit faster to see if I can beat the yarn!!!

Off to Sheffield this week-end, so will start a new knitting project on Monday

 

 

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

2 thoughts on “Paintbox!!

  1. I love the contrast between the main variegated yarn and the red edgings. Moss stitch is also a favourite of mine and perfect for baby garments! I do agree, the colours remindme of a paintbox.

Leave a Reply

