Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Percy the penguin

2 Comments

I have a lot of projects on the needles at the moment as I’m frantically working through my Christmas ‘to do’ list. My second little doll is progressing nicely and two teddy bears have been cast on. I thought I would make a quick Christmas ornament for my daughter Hannah who we will be visiting this weekend. Came across this little Jean Greenhowe character and knew I had to make him!

Percy

He stands at 7 inches and is well wrapped up against the elements for a night of carol singing! I love the little lantern, it is such a cute detail and was easy to make.

He is knitted in DK using oddments from my stash. I’m so used to knitting with pastels and bright colours that I found knitting with blackĀ  strange and quite hard on the eyes at times. The hat and scarf were quick to knit and a snug cosy fit. The lantern pole is actually a bendy straw covered in a piece of reverse stocking stitch and the lantern just hangs at the end. I wish I had used a more luminous shade of yellow for the lantern, to give it a better glow.

Percy in the making

Percy in the making

I was pleased with the way he turned out, I hope he’ll be a nice surprise for Hannah and that he’ll be around for many Christmases to come.

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

2 thoughts on “Percy the penguin

  1. Oh my goodness, that penguin is just too precious!

Leave a Reply

