Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Bridal Bunnies

6 Comments

DSCN1813

At the beginning of September my lovely cousin Lynn from Birmingham got in touch and asked if I could make two little bunnies dressed as a bride and groom which were to be a gift for a friend who was to be married in October. After a quick bit of research I decided to use the Alan Dart design for Bridal Bunnies. Alan is a genius, his characters are always wonderful, ranging from the really cute to the downright quirky.

We were off on holiday for most of September so I took along a project bag to get started on the bride. Both little bunnies were a joy to knit and Alan’s patterns are so straightforward to follow.

Bunny Bride in the making

Bridal Bunny

The bride knitted up beautifully, she measures just under 11 inches from the tips of her ears.  I used Peter Pan Lustre in white for the dress, which gave it a lovely silvery sheen. The hem and neck frill were knitted separately and stitched in place, I love the way the waist is gathered in slightly which gives her a very feminine look. Instead of knitting the veil I used lace fabric instead and made her a tiara with lilac and white ribbon roses which matched her bouquet. To complete her outfit I made her some pearls for her big day.

DSCN1776

Bunny Groom in the making

Bunny Groom

I loved making the groom, he’s quite a handsome little character, in fact a Mr. Darcy of a rabbit!! He measures 12 inches so slightly taller than his bride. I used the Peter Pan Lustre Dk in grey for his trousers,  a darker grey for his tail coat and lilac for the waistcoat to match the brides accessories. He was actually more fiddly than the bride to assemble as his waistcoat, cravat and shirt collar were all stitched in place separatley along with his cute little bobtail.

DSCN1817

They make such a beautiful couple, they look so well suited! Rumour has it that he owns a fair size carrot patch somewhere in Derbyshire, so looks like Bunny Bride may have done well for herself!!

DSCN1821

I’m going to miss them when they go, but I’m sure they will have a long happy life together. Hopefully one well blessed with lots of little baby bunnies which are just waiting to be knitted!!!

Their Big Day

Their Big Day

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

6 thoughts on “Bridal Bunnies

  1. What adorable bride and groom rabbits! And yes, he is a Mr. Darcy.

  2. Oh my word! I’m blown away again! Too cute!

  3. These are so cute. Thanks for think to Alan Dart’s website. Your photos are beautiful as usual.

Leave a Reply

