Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Cute Little Booties and Sweet Mary Janes

7 Comments

I’ve been taking advantage of this glorious heatwave and doing a lot of the knitting and sewing outside in the garden. As the weather is so warm I thought I’d concentrate on small items, ones that knit up quickly for instant gratification before lethargy sets in and the project is shelved for a cooler day.

Baby footwear is always a pleasure to work on, so I thought I’ll add to my stock of little booties and shoes.

Baby Booties

The booties I’ve knitted with little boys in mind, hence the blue. All are knitted in DK and easy to create from small amounts of yarn from your stash.  The blue booties are for a baby 3-6 months and are from a pattern in ‘Cutest Ever Baby Knits’ by Val pierce.  I do love the little dogs, they are knitted seperatley, very easy to do and attached at the bootie at the  end.

Doggy Slippers

The Teddy Bear booties which are my favourite are slightly bigger to fit a baby of 6-9 months. This wonderful pattern is from ’50 Baby Bootees to Knit’ by Zoe Mellor. Again easy to knit up with nice instep shaping. The ears are knitted separately and attached and the facial details are embroidered on. They are really cute and could grace the feet of any little prince

Teddy Booties

Now something for the girls, this was a good week to indulge my passion for the little Mary Jane Shoe.

Mary Jane Shoes

These are all DK, the two pairs at the back are for baby 0-3 months and knitted from a free Mary Jane pattern.  The ones in the front are slightly bigger for baby 3-6 months.  These can be made in any colour and stitch combinations to go with every outfit and can be adorned with a variety of embellishments, so you can let your creative juices flow.

As well as looking cute all footwear are pleasantly soft and will keep little toes comfortable and warm once this heatwave abates.

DSCN1419

It’s been a busy crafting week but worthwhile when you see everything neatly sewn up and  displayed!

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

7 thoughts on “Cute Little Booties and Sweet Mary Janes

  1. Oh my word!!! They so cute! Just downloaded the Mary Jane pattern.
    Bye
    Going to knit now! Oh Yes! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Those are so adorable!!! My 13 yo daughter is oooing and aaaahhhhing over them. You did a great job. Thanks so much!

  3. I just love those mary jane shoes. Are the two kinds both from the same pattern as I would love to make the one with the edging on the bottom. I just love your colour combinations.

    • Hi Elizabeth
      The two kinds of shoe are more or less the same pattern. Once you have finished the increase rows which form the sole of the shoe and before you start the 14 rows of straight garter stitch knit 6 rows in stocking stitch either in the same yarn or a contrasting colour. When making up the shoe fold and stitch the stocking stitch rows and this forms the edging. – hope that makes sense!

      • Thanks for the your help Carol. I have the basic pattern so I will adjust it as you mention. Thanks again. Can’t wait to get started on them

Leave a Reply

