Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

A knitted Vintage Teddy Bear

5 Comments

I’m back to creating teddy bears again.

Tommy Bear

Tommy Bear

This is my first attempt at designing a bear. I actually started him back in November but after a few false starts and a bit of frogging I managed to finish him in March. To refine the pattern I knitted him a brother and sister with identical style cardigans.

Danny Bear

Danny Bear

Annie Bear

Annie Bear

I wanted to create a classic vintage style bear reminiscent of the old Steiff bears. Didn’t quite achieve that but I was pleased with the way they turned out. I would love them to become one of those bears you hold onto forever and pass on to a new generation.

To creat a vintage look I knitted the bear in reverse stocking stitch. Think I made the arms a tad too long but it does make them very huggable. They are in a seated position and measure 12 inches from the tips of their ears, and have a 15 inch chest after stuffing.

The little cardigan is in garter stitch with little teddy bear buttons and would actually fit a premature or newborn baby.

The Three Bears

Need to tweak the pattern a bit before I write it up, hoping to have it available soon as a PDF download.

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

5 thoughts on “A knitted Vintage Teddy Bear

  1. They soooo cute! Love them!

  2. I love your bears. I have knitted bears in the past but I’m not really good at joining the limbs.

Leave a Reply

