Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Dusky Rose Frock Coat

8 Comments

This week I decided to stay with the variegated yarn theme,  raided through my ever growing stash, and came up with this combination of pinks.

DSCN1173

I based the pattern on a 1950’s vintage style matinee coat to fit a little girl of 6-9 months. It is all in DK, I used the multi coloured yarn which knitted up beautifully for the skirt, which was done in one piece. I incorporated gradual decreases in the skirt to the waistband. and used a dusky pink for the bodice and sleeves.

DSCN1183

The bodice and sleeves were knitted in moss stitch for a different texture and  the edgings were done in garter stich using a darker pink. The buttons I already had in my collection and appear to be an excellent match, really pleased with that!

DSCN1180  DSCN1176

Overall the effect is quite pretty the two pink yarns blend in well with the mult-coloured section. To complement the coat I had to make a matching pair of shoes. Just love making these Mary Jane shoes, such a cute addition to any little girls wardrobe.

DSCN1177  DSCN1178

Off now to start another project!

 

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

8 thoughts on “Dusky Rose Frock Coat

  1. Again you have out done yourself! Very very cute!
    Like a friend of mine will say “to much cuteness!”
    Love
    NikkiM

  2. I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the WordPress Family Blog Award! Thanks for making me feel at home here 🙂

  3. Hi Carol, I was wondering if you could tell me what the name of the multi coloured DK wool was, it’s so pretty and I would like to try and find some. Thanks

Leave a Reply

