Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

Little Country Coat

2 Comments

Choosing the colours for a project can sometimes be a big headache especially when you have several combinations you want to try out. I thought for this project (another little hat and coat set) I would take a departure from the usual blues, pinks and lilacs, and opt for green and white. It’s a pistachio green which works well with the white giving it a  pleasing fresh look.

DSCN1140

The colour reminds me of green fields which is why I’ve called it a ‘Little Country Coat’. It’s knitted in a DK yarn in a combination of stocking stitch and double moss stitch.

DSCN1141

The double moss stitch gives a lovely texture to the fabric and provides a good contrast to the stocking stitch. The front has two patch pockets which I’ve embellished with little knitted daisies which are repeated on the hat. The little collar I think completes the coat. I was lucky with the little heart shaped buttons, I already had these in my stash – I love collecting buttons! – and they were a perfect colour match with the yarn

DSCN1143  DSCN1142

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

2 thoughts on “Little Country Coat

  1. To much cuteness! As usual beautiful!

Leave a Reply

