Carol Turner

Nursery Knitwear

French Inspiration

2 Comments

La Droguerie

On a recent trip to France I had the good fortune to discover La Droguerie a wonderful yarn and craft shop. Tony and I happened to come across it by chance as we strolled along the narrow streets in the Old Quarter of Lille. The store is a visual delight for craft lovers offering inspiration as soon as you enter its doors.

La Droguerie1

Hanks of yarn are hung in a striking array of colours starting with the finest ply at one end and the chunkier fibre at the other. Ribbons and buttons are beautifully displayed in little boxes and glass jars begging for inspection. Knitted baby items created from their own patterns are mounted and displayed artistically on the walls. I could spend as much time here as in an art gallery, much to the annoyance of the darling husband whose patience was beginning to wane when it was obvious it wasn’t going to be a quick exit.

The need to stock up on items was overwhelming. Even though my French isn’t the best I had to stock up on some of their baby patterns. I’ve bought  plenty of cookery books in French over the years and have always managed to work things out, so I thought I should be able to do the same with the knitting patterns!!

I bought Rêve de bébé à La Droguerie which has some really sweet and stylish little outfits.

Little Duffle Coats  Pink Cardigan

Coat in Green  All Patterns

I’m determined to try my hand at some of them soon, especially as I came across a great website with a French/English knitting dictionary. So Voila, no excuse not to start now.

Author: Carol Turner

Hello and welcome. I love knitting baby clothes and creating nursery toys and this site is a showcase for my little creations. Thank you for visiting and do call again soon

2 thoughts on “French Inspiration

  1. Nice to stumble across such a nice store. Some of the local yarn stores in New Zealand are very old fashioned and look like a jumble store. Good luck with the translations. Patterns look gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

